Budget and Contract Approval on EPC September 20 Agenda
Posted: 09/08/2011
WINDSOR HEIGHTS – The annual budget request, along with contracts for floodplain mapping, solid waste grants and watershed improvement projects are up for the Environmental Protection Commission’s approval in September.

Commissioners will be asked to approve five-year contracts totaling $5 million with seven firms for floodplain mapping. The firms will develop or update floodplain maps in 85 counties that qualified for federal disaster assistance in 2008. The DNR is working closely with the Iowa Flood Center at the University of Iowa to produce flood maps that meet DNR and federal requirements.  

Contracts with the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship Division of Soil Conservation to improve water quality at Rathbun Lake and Big Creek Lake also need commission approval. A contract amendment to the watershed improvement project at Clear Lake is also submitted for commission approval. The contracts will fund agricultural and urban educational efforts and watershed improvement practices.

In other action, the DNR will ask for commission approval on five solid waste alternative projects for $414,144 in a combination of forgivable, zero-interest and 3 percent loans. The recommended projects focus on diverting materials from landfills by providing equipment, education or technical assistance.

The Sept. 20 meeting will start an hour later than usual to allow commissioners to attend the Iowa Environmental Conference. Starting at 11 a.m. with public participation scheduled for 11:30 a.m., the meeting will be held at the DNR’s Air Quality building, 7900 Hickman Road in Windsor Heights.

Find more information on the EPC agenda items at:

The members of the commission are: David Petty, Eldora, Chair; Lorna Puntillo, Sioux City, Vice Chair; Mary Boote, Des Moines, Secretary; Dee Bruemmer, Davenport; Nancy Couser, Nevada; John Glenn, Centerville; Dolores Mertz, Ottosen; Marty Stimson, Cedar Rapids; and Brent Rastetter, Ames. The director of the DNR is Roger Lande.