Seats Available for Hunter Education Classes
Posted: 04/29/2014

Many hunter education classroom and online/field day courses have seats available.  Classes are listed on the Iowa Department of Natural Resources’ website at www.iowadnr.gov/huntered along with information on how to sign up.

Classes can fill quickly so anyone needing to take a hunter education class is encouraged to sign up soon.

Iowa law requires anyone born after January 1, 1972 to have successfully completed a hunter education course to purchase a hunting license. Children as young as 11 may enroll in the course, but their certificate of completion will not become valid until their 12th birthday.

Online Only Course Option for Adults

The online only course for adults is designed for Iowa residents 18 years of age or older that have prior hunting and/or firearms handling experience. 

The course covers the same material as the classroom course, allowing the student to complete the entire course, including the final test, in an online setting. Certification is received at the successful completion of the online course.

To get started on one of the DNR’s approved online Hunter Education courses, go to www.iowadnr.gov/huntered. One of the approved course providers, HUNTERcourse.com, is launching a promotional safety campaign from April 25 to May 5, 2014.

Students who sign up for the online course during the promo, and complete the course by May 9, will save $5 off the cost of the safety course. Sign up at www.huntercourse.com/usa between April 25 and May 5, 2014.

The discount promotion is valid for both the regular field day online course (11 years old and older) and the adult online option (18 and older).

For more information contact Megan Wisecup, Hunter Education Administrator, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 515-238-4968.