DNR Announces Winners of Healthy & Happy Outdoors Photo Contest
Posted: 08/01/2013

DES MOINES ¬– The DNR has announced the winners of its Healthy & Happy Outdoors Iowa Photo Quilt contest.

The DNR received more than 400 entries for the contest, which was judged by Jake Zweibohmer, Art Director for Iowa Outdoors magazine. The photographer with the best photo for each county will each receive a one-year subscription to Iowa Outdoors.

The winning photos have been placed in a “photo quilt” banner that will be displayed at the DNR building at the Iowa State Fair. To view all the photos submitted for the contest, visit the DNR on Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/iowadnr/iowa-photo-quilt/.

Winners are listed below by the county in which the winning photo was taken. Note that photos were not submitted for all 99 counties.

Adair – Adam Kiel
Allamakee – Randy Edwards
Appanoose – Jim Day
Audubon – Jill Cornell
Benton – Molly Wade
Black Hawk – Traci Baker
Boone – David Weidner
Bremer – Eddy Derifield
Buchanan – Jessica Rilling
Buena Vista – Sandy Ivers
Butler – Eddy Derifield
Calhoun – Kimberly Calmer
Carroll – Nancy Schmitz
Cass – John Rasmussen
Cedar – Josh Meier
Cerro Gordo – Paul Hertzel
Cherokee – John Snapp
Chickasaw – Joel Gray
Clayton – Lois Albrecht
Clinton – Mary Horst
Crawford – Traci Baker
Dallas – Teena Case
Davis – Kathleen Burress
Decatur – Kelly Souza
Delaware – Tom Wood
Des Moines - Nedra Cumberland
Dickinson – Sheena Shreck
Dubuque – Ronald Tigges
Fayette – Jason Rubin
Franklin – Paul Hiscocks
Fremont – Garry Pogemiller
Floyd – Margo Underwood
Greene – Peg Gannon
Grundy – Dan Case
Guthrie – Paul Hiscocks
Hancock – Brooke Simpson
Hardin – Tom Wood
Harrison – Debra Purcell
Henry – Nedra Cumberland
Howard – Jessica Rilling
Ida – Don Poggensee
Iowa – Mary Horst
Jackson – Maggie Carstensen
Jasper – Tom Wood
Jefferson – Mike Griffin
Johnson – Evan Hindman
Jones – Mitch McCarthy
Kossuth – Tonya Gray
Lee – Lora Conrad
Linn – Kelly Souza
Louisa – Tammy Slater
Lucas – Becky Pennington
Madison – Alan Lange
Marion – Kevin Garrison
Marshall – Garry Brandenburg
Mitchell – Dan Bratrud
Monona – Tyler Nickolisen
Monroe – Gary Sample
Montgomery – Michelle Pelzer
Muscatine – John Wilkins
Osceola – John Schmidt
Page – Dianna Long
Pocahontas – Alvin Conkling
Polk – Todd Razor
Pottawattamie – Paula Danker
Ringgold – Kelly Souza
Sac – Gary Witte
Scott – Kelly Riibe
Shelby – Paul Hiscocks
Story – Larry Dau
Tama – Stacey Kolars
Union – Jessica Rosener
Van Buren - Lora Conrad
Wapello – Ryan Rasmussen
Warren – David Austin
Webster – Lisa Rasmussen
Winnebago – Lisa Ralls
Winneshiek – Randy Edwards
Woodbury – Kelly Riibe
Worth – Paul Hertzel
Wright – Becky Chipman

Healthy & Happy Outdoors, or H2O, connects Iowans with outdoor resources to reduce stress and improve their health. Iowans can go to www.iowadnr.gov/h2o and use the interactive map to find more than 30 types of outdoor activities at more than 1,600 state and county parks and recreation areas. Participants who create an account and log their activities are automatically entered into prize drawings for outdoor gear.