Volunteer Fire Assistance Grants Awarded to 83 Rural Iowa Fire Departments
Posted: 11/20/2012
AMES – The Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Forestry Bureau, in cooperation with U.S. Forest Service - State and Private Forestry, has awarded $186,223 in 50 percent cost-share grants to 83 rural fire Iowa departments to aid their efforts in protecting Iowan’s and their property from wildfires. 

The grants offer valuable funding assistance for wildfire suppression equipment, personal protective equipment, and communications equipment, said Gail Kantak, fire supervisor with the DNR’s Forestry Bureau.

The 2012 Volunteer Fire Assistance grant requests have been approved for the following fire departments:
Ackley; Afton; Ainsworth; Akron; Algona; Andrew; Anthon; Aplington; Arlington; Aurelia; Barnum; Blencoe; Britt; Bussey; Canton-Benton-Shellsburg; Castana; Churdan; Coulter; Creston and Deloit.

Edgewood; Eldora; Exira; Farmington; Fort Atkinson; Fredericksburg; Glenwood; Glidden; Guttenberg; Hanlontown; Harpers Ferry; Hawkeye Community; Hinton; Iowa Falls; Jefferson- Monroe; Jewell and Joice.
Kanawha; Kirkman; Lake Mills; Lamoni; Lansing; Larrabee; Lawton; Le Grand; Luana; Mapleton; Maquoketa; Martensdale; Melbourne; Melcher-Dallas; Menlo; Montour; Moorhead; Moulton; New Market; New Virginia - Virginia Township and North English.

Oakland; Onawa; Otho; Pacific Junction; Parkersburg; Perry; Peterson; Postville; Readlyn; Renwick; Ridgeway; Riverton; Saint Olaf; Seymour; Shell Rock; Soldier; Stratford; Sutherland; Swea City; Tripoli; Ute; Van Meter; Wallingford; Waukon and West Branch.

Kantak said it is important that all fire departments submit wildland fire reports whenever they respond to a wildland fire or provide assistance to a prescribed or controlled wildland fire.  Wildland fire reporting forms are available at www.iowadnr.gov/fire.

Departments actively returning these reports receive priority points when the Volunteer Fire Assistance grant applications are scored.  These wildland fire reports are compiled locally and nationally and are reported to Congress.