Enter Title

The purpose of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact is to assure that in participating states, non-resident violators will receive the same treatment as resident violators. The IWVC member states reciprocate regarding the suspension or revocation of licenses and permits resulting from violation of hunting, fishing, or trapping laws. If an individual's license or permit privileges are revoked in one compact member state, they are subject to suspension or revocation in all other member states. For example, if an Iowa resident has their hunting privileges suspended in Minnesota, their privileges may also be suspended in Iowa and in all other compact states. This helps prevent habitual violators from relocating their illegal activities to other member's states.

The IWVC also has established procedures that cause a non-resident violator who fails to comply with the terms of a citation issued in a participating state to face the possibility of the suspension of his wildlife license privileges in their home state until the terms of the citation are met.

The goal of the IWVC is to facilitate improved enforcement of hunting, fishing, and trapping laws through the cooperation of law enforcement units in member states.

The topic of an interstate violator compact was first broached in the 1980s. Law enforcement agencies were looking for a way to deal with individuals who violated wildlife and resource laws outside their home state or in multiple states. Their work came to fruition in 1989 when the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact was passed into law in Colorado, Nevada, and Oregon. Iowa became an active member of the compact in 2003.

Currently, there are 35 states in the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact. They include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact - Membership Map

Member States:  Yes (35)  No (15)

Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact - Membership List

For More Information

Aron Arthur
Law Enforcement Bureau
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
Phone: 515-725-8478

Or visit TIP of Iowa Website